World Shibori Network

Celebrating the visual languages of PEOPLE, COMMUNITY, CULTURE, and ENVIRONMENT through the global practice of resist-dye traditions and innovations, keeping in mind authenticity, reciprocity, and networking.

Yoshiko Wada honored with the 2016 George Hewitt Myers Award

In November 2016, The George Washington University Museum and The Textile Museum will present WSN President Yoshiko I. Wada with the George Hewitt Myers Award in recognition of her lifetime achievements in advancing knowledge and appreciation of the textile arts.


Named after The Textile Museum’s founder and given by the Museum’s Board of Trustees, the George Hewitt Myers Award recognizes an individual’s lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the field of textile arts. The award is the highest accolade in the field of textile arts.

Previous Myers Award recipients include museum leader Bruce P. Baganz (2015); art historian Walter B. Denny (2012); artist and scholar Milton Sonday (2011); author and publisher Michael Franses (2010); scholar Mattiebelle Gittinger (2009); scholar Jon Thompson (2008); collector and philanthropist Lloyd Cotsen (2007); ethnographer and photographer the late Josephine Powell (2006); and textile designer Jack Lenor Larsen (2005).

This year’s award will be presented during a celebratory dinner on Thursday, November 3 at the Fairmont in Washington, D.C. Honorary Co-Chairs of the Host Committee for the 2016 Award Dinner are Jack Lenor Larsen and Issey Miyake. The event will kick off a weekend celebrating the opening of the exhibition Bingata! Only in Okinawa and the museum’s fall symposium at the George Washington University.


“For nearly forty years Yoshiko has shown leadership as an advocate, artist, curator, historian, and educator in the textile arts. With her truly global influence, she is a deserving recipient of this prestigious award.” –  Bruce P. Baganz, Ph.D. (President, The Textile Museum Board of Trustees and Co-Chair of the George Washington University Museum Board of Trustees) and John Wetenhall, Ph.D. ( Director, The George Washington University Museum and The Textile Museum)

You can become a sponsor of the 2016 award dinner with a contribution to support the Textile Museum. Individual tickets at $250 per person will be available in late September. Details available in this leaflet (click to download) or visit: The Textile Museum



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on 28 September 2016 by and tagged , , , .
%d bloggers like this: